Lets talk about MMO's in general.
Started by Dread1313

Rate this topic
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

0 posts in this topic
Dread1313

8 posts 2 threads Joined: Aug 2019
Lightbulb  04-08-2019, 12:15 AM -
Ive been playing MMO's since EverQuest in 1999. So I am a bit of an old fart/old schooler. Its probably no surprise to anyone with as much of -or- close to the amount of experience with MMO's as me that the MMO industry at this time is pretty much utter crap. There is only a very small handful (I'm talking maybe one or two) titles out there worth playing. The reason is for 2 reasons:

1. Excessive Grind
2. Level Scaling

I will talk about these two points now.

1. Excessive grind can be defined as forcing or enticing a player to do a menial or trivial task over and over for hours or days at a time, in order to achieve a desired result.
Most KOREAN BASED (black desert, perfect world, etc etc) based MMO's have an extreme amount of grinding, which - at first, is ok but then as you are just doing the same thing over and over again - the repetition gets to you. Fast forward 2 weeks later and either you are a corpse or your brain is scrambled egg. World of Warcraft also had this issue, but they started putting in other things (which watered down the rest of the game unfortunately) (battle pets, battle for azeroth) to make the grind not feel like it was such a thing.